The journey is almost complete: What I’ve learned from my service-learning project with BRAC

Image

Wow! When I reflect on my experiences this semester in MC 4001 (PR Writing), that is the first word that comes to mind. From the sleepless nights resulting from completing assignments at the last minute, to having the task of completing a mini-campaign, this semester in MC 4001 has been hectic. As a junior mass communications major at LSU, I can truly say that this course has been the most demanding mass comm course that I have taken by far. Although this course has been demanding, frustrating and very stressful at times, being in this course has also been a rewarding experience. This course has prepared me for a career in public relations, and I would like to share a few reasons why in this blog.

As I shared in a previous blog post link, when I sat in MC 4001 for the first day I was overwhelmed. Listening to Dr. Jensen Moore read the syllabus was equivalent to a child listening to a horror story. Thoughts instantly rushed through my mind. How am I going to do all of this work? What kind of grade am I going to get? Will I have to drop this course? Throughout the course, all three of those questions have been answered, and I am satisfied with the answers.

MC 4001 has given me knowledge and experience that will be applicable to my future job. I have gained a lot of experience as a writer. I now have to ability to write a long list of documents that include: pitch letters, media advisories, social media releases and fundraising letters. Before enrolling in this course, I had no idea what some of those documents were.

Image

This service-learning course has also given me the opportunity the work on a campaign with a real life client. Working on a campaign for a real life client has been an exciting and eye-opening experience. My agency, Spotlight BR, has focused on helping BRAC expose visitors and residents of Baton Rouge to entertaining nightlife options.  We have developed a SCVNGR trek that features eight venues that can serve as source of entertainment for adults at night. The trek is composed of a series of challenges that take place at the eight locations. Rewards are given to application users who check-in and complete each challenge at the locations listed. If you would like to find out more information about SCVNGR, here is a link with more info here.

It is amazing that I can finally see the finish line. The end of this service-learning course is near. The journey has been long, difficult and tiring at times, but if I had the choice, I wouldn’t change anything about it.

Below is a link to a video of me describing my experience as a MC 4001 student.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQ0CbcWBD2Y

If you are interested in seeing how this course affects the rest of my tenure as a college student and how it propels me to successful career in PR, you should continue to follow my blog. You can also follow me on Twitter @_Ramon_H.

Leave a Reply

